Awards Programs

The James I. Hambleton Memorial Award was established by the Eastern Apicultural Society of North America to recognize research excellence in apiculture.

The EAS Student Apiculture Award was established to recognize students studying apiculture at the undergraduate or graduate level in a recognized college or university in the United States or Canada. The Student Award includes a $1,000 premium.

Each of the above award nominations must include a biographical sketch of the nominee, a list of his/her publications, specific identification of the research work on which the nomination is based, and an evaluation and appraisal of the accomplishment of the nominee, especially of work in the last five-year period for Hambleton Award nominees (or a shorter period for Student nominees). A minimum of one letter of recommendation, in addition to the nomination letter, in support of the nomination are also required. Additional documentation or letters regarding the individual’s support of the beekeeping industry and beekeepers are welcomed, but not necessary.

The Roger A. Morse Outstanding Teaching/Extension Service/Regulatory Award Supported by Anita Weiss Foundation is given annually to recognize an individual in teaching/extension and/or regulatory activity in the field of apiculture. Nominations for this award are welcome from any person in the field of apiculture. Self-Nominations are acceptable. Nominations shall consist of a letter documenting the achievement of excellence in any or all of the areas of teaching/extension and/or regulatory activities in apiculture. Some indication of the appointment responsibilities should be included. In addition, a suitable CV or resume documenting the activities of the nominee must be submitted. This award includes a $500 premium.

The awards are be presented each year at the annual conference of the Society. Nominations and letters of recommendation must be received no later than February 1st. Send by email to:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Resubmissions from a previous year should be updated if necessary, and a new cover letter should be attached which should indicate that this is a resubmission and relevant data is already in EAS possession.

Divelbiss Award

At each annual conference, the Eastern Apicultural Society presents the Charles and Evelyn Divelbiss Education Award. This award is presented to that person or couple who has—over a period of years—reached out to the non-beekeeping public to explain the value of honey bees in our lives.

The nominee does not need to be from your own state or province. You may wish to announce this request for nominations at beekeeping meetings and in their newsletters. Feel free to contact officers of state and local organizations to request their suggestions for possible candidates and letters of support.

The nomination process is easy. Write a letter outlining how the candidate has reached the general public over the years. Groups, such as 4-H clubs, Scouting organizations, school groups, community organizations, Lions Clubs, and garden clubs, as well as media interviews and exhibits at county and state fairs, qualify as non-beekeeping public.

Although the main criteria is edification of the general public, the letter may also include activities that teach Short Courses and other instructional work toward educating beekeepers and prospective beekeepers. The nominee does not need to be a member of EAS (but the Society would be delighted if the recipient would join).

The deadline for submissions is April 30th. Nominations and letters of support should be emailed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..



Our Mission Is:
Education and Conferences,
Master Beekeeper Certification,
Honey Bee Research Grants